NOAA 99-R404
Contact: Molly Bell


The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration announces the Call for Nominations for 1999 Walter B. Jones Memorial and NOAA Excellence Awards for Coastal and Ocean Resource Management. Innovation, resourcefulness, and a commitment to balancing the human use of America's coastal and ocean resources with the needs of the resources themselves—these are the hallmarks of the awards.

The Coastal Zone Management Act (CZMA) of 1972 created a unique and
voluntary partnership of federal and state governments to provide a balance between land and water uses in coastal zones, and to conserve fragile coastal resources. As part of the 1990 CZMA reauthorization, then chair of the House Merchant Marine and Fisheries Committee, the late Honorable Walter B. Jones Sr., provided NOAA authority to honor individuals and organizations whose work reflects the innovation and balance needed to maintain a healthy coast for present and future generations. The award categories are:

Walter B. Jones Memorial Awards
- Coastal Steward of the Year
- Excellence in Coastal and Marine Graduate Study
- Excellence in Local Government

NOAA Excellence Awards for Coastal and Ocean Resource Management:
- Volunteer of the Year
- Non-Government Organization (NGO) of the Year
- Excellence in Promoting Diversity in Coastal or Ocean Resource Management
- Excellence in Business Leadership
- Excellence in Innovative Coastal Management

The program is open to individuals, organizations, state and local government agencies and their employees. Entries must adhere to the strict submission and judging criteria and must be received by June 30, 1999. Winners will be notified in September 1999 and honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. in October.

For nomination information on the Awards:
- Visit
- E-mail
- Phone, 301 713-3070, ext 170