Contact: Ben Sherman
NOAA News Releases 2005
NOAA Home Page
NOAA Public Affairs


The Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary, managed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), is seeking applicants for vacant primary and alternate sanctuary advisory council seats.

Open seats include:

  • at – large for Marin/Sonoma Counties (primary and alternate)
  • at – large for San Francisco/San Mateo Counties (primary and alternate)
  • conservation (two primary seats and two alternates)
  • education (primary and alternate)
  • maritime activities/commercial (primary and alternate)
  • maritime activities/recreational (primary and alternate)
  • research (primary and alternate)

Applicants are chosen based on their particular expertise and experience in relation to the seat for which they are applying; community and professional affiliations; philosophy regarding the protection and management of marine resources; and possibly the length of residence in the area affected by the sanctuary. Terms run for either two or three years and members will serve without pay. The council meets on average once every quarter depending on issues. Current seat holders may re-apply.

The Gulf of the Farallones Sanctuary Advisory Council was established in 2001 to provide advice on management and protection of the sanctuary. The council, through its members, also represents community interests and concerns to sanctuary management and NOAA.

A council member application package may be obtained by contacting Council Coordinator Rowena Forest at (415) 663-0314 Ext. 105,, or Completed applications should be mailed to: Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary; ATTN - Sanctuary Advisory Council Applications; P.O. Box 159, Olema, CA 94950. Applications must be received by Dec. 31. Representatives for each seat selected by the sanctuary will begin their terms in February 2006.

The Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary was established in 1981 to protect the near-shore waters of the California Coast north and west of San Francisco, and the offshore Farallon Islands. The sanctuary includes nursery and spawning grounds for commercially important species, over 33 species of marine mammals and 15 species of breeding seabirds. The Farallon Islands contain the largest concentration of breeding seabirds in the contiguous United States. Key habitats include coastal beaches, rocky shores, mud and tidal flats, salt marsh, estuaries and pelagic waters. Additionally, the area within the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary north of the San Mateo/Santa Cruz county boundary is administered by the Gulf of the Farallones sanctuary.

Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary is part of the National Marine Sanctuary Program which includes 13 national marine sanctuaries and one coral reef ecosystem reserve that together encompass more than 150,000 square miles of America’s ocean and Great Lakes marine and cultural resources. National marine sanctuaries conduct scientific research, monitoring, exploration and educational programs.

NOAA’s National Ocean Service manages the National Marine Sanctuary Program and is dedicated to exploring, understanding, conserving and restoring the nation’s coasts and oceans. The National Ocean Service balances environmental protection with economic prosperity in fulfilling its mission of promoting safe navigation, supporting coastal communities, sustaining coastal habitats and mitigating coastal hazards.

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department, is dedicated to enhancing economic security and national safety through the prediction and research of weather and climate-related events and providing environmental stewardship of our nation’s coastal and marine resources. Through the emerging Global Earth Observation System of Systems (GEOSS), NOAA is working with its federal partners and nearly 60 countries to develop a global monitoring network that is as integrated as the planet it observes.

On the Internet:


National Ocean Service:

National Marine Sanctuary Program:

Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary: