NOAA 2004-041
Contact: Greg Hernandez

NOAA News Releases 2004
NOAA Home Page
NOAA Public Affairs


The Commerce Department’s National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) presented its Environmental Hero Award to 30 individuals and three organizations this year from across the United States and around the world. Given in conjunction with Earth Day celebrations, the award honors NOAA volunteers for their “tireless efforts to preserve and protect our nation's environment.”

“NOAA and the nation are fortunate to have such dedicated people volunteer so much of their time,” said retired Navy Vice Adm. Conrad C. Lautenbacher, Ph.D., undersecretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere and NOAA administrator. “They set a perfect example for others to follow in their communities. America needs more environmental heroes like them.”

Established in 1995 to commemorate the 25th anniversary of Earth Day, the Environmental Hero award is presented to individuals and organizations that volunteer their time and energy to help NOAA carry out its mission.

“On behalf of the 12,500 men and women working for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, I am pleased to present you with this 2004 Environmental Hero Award,” Lautenbacher wrote in a letter to the recipients. “Your dedicated efforts and outstanding accomplishments greatly benefit the environment and make our nation a better place for all Americans.”

There are a total of 33 winners—30 individuals and three organizations. Visit the NOAA Earth Day Web site at to read more about this year’s award winners. Recipients of the 2004 NOAA Environmental Heroes Award are:

Recipient Location
Homer Canelis Cazadero, Calif
Mary Dudley Boise, Idaho
Thor J. Lassen

Arlington, Va.

Cornelia Norman Penland New Orleans, La.
P.J. Foley

Quincy, Mass.

Robert Kramer Dania Beach, Fla.
Jack C. Caldwell Lafayett, La.
Mark Lancaster Weaverville, Calif.
Curtis Duncan Goodland, Kan.
Clay Freinwald Seattle, Wash.
Clay Freinwald Seattle, Wash.
Soraya Flores-Guirreri

New Orleans, La.

Wayne E. Johnson

Fort Smith, Ark.

J. David Lambert Jacksonville, Fla.
Pietro Parravano Half Moon Bay, Calif.
Jim Rea Glasgow, Mont.
Ron Valley Spokane, Wash.
Donald Oswalt Salem, Ore.
Pauline Dyer Seattle, Wash.
Hugh Robert Williams Savannah, Ga.
Hannah Nevins Moss Landing, Calif.
Ian Miller Port Angeles, Calif.
Jamie Hall San Francisco, Calif.
Ken Nedimeyer Tavernier, Fla.
Richard Carey Severna Park, Md.
Nikolai Filippovich Elansky Moscow, Russia
Joseph Sealy Barbados, West Indies
Anthony Guillory and Paul Meyer Huntsville, Ala.
Leroy Jones and Harry R. Davis, Jr. Somverville, Texas
KAKM Channel 7 Anchorage, Alaska
Monterey Bay Kayaks Monterey, Calif.
Northeast Marine Pilots Association Newport, Rhode Island

NOAA is dedicated to enhancing economic security and national safety through the prediction and research of weather and climate-related events and providing environmental stewardship of the nation’s coastal and marine resources. To learn more about NOAA, please visit