NOAA 2002-150
Contact: David Miller
NOAA News Releases 2002
NOAA Home Page
NOAA Public Affairs


The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) announces the call for nominations for the 2002 Walter B. Jones Memorial and NOAA Excellence Awards for Coastal and Ocean Resource Management. Recipients will be recognized for their innovation, resourcefulness, and commitment to balancing the human use of America's coastal and ocean resources with the needs of the resources themselves. NOAA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Created as part of the 1990 Coastal Zone Management Act (CZMA) reauthorization, the Walter B. Jones Memorial Awards are given to those individuals and local governments who embody the dedication and leadership of the late Congressman Jones in ensuring the health of our Nation’s coastal and ocean resources. The NOAA Excellence Awards recognize the broad spectrum of contributions from individuals and organizations to reward the creative endeavors developed to face the challenges of coastal and ocean management. The award categories are:

Walter B. Jones Memorial Awards

  • Coastal Steward of the Year – Honors an individual who has exemplified strong, sustained leadership in striking a balance between the human use of the coast and ocean and the needs of that environment.
  • Excellence in Coastal and Marine Graduate Study – Recognizes graduate students whose academic study promises to contribute materially to the development of new or improved approaches to coastal or ocean management.
  • Excellence in Local Government – Recognizes local governments that have inspired positive change in the field of coastal management by developing or implementing principles embodied by the CZMA.

NOAA Excellence Awards for Coastal and Ocean Resource Management

  • Volunteer of the Year – Recognizes an individual of any age who, outside of his/her work in an employment or student capacity, has donated substantial time to significantly improve the coastal or marine environment.
  • Non-Governmental Organization of the Year – Honors a non-government entity, such as a non-profit organization, association, friends group or foundation that has made significant contributions to support coastal or marine resource programs.
  • Excellence in Promoting Diversity in Coastal or Ocean Resource Management – Bestowed in honor of the late U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary Ronald H. Brown. The award is given to a representative of a university, tribal, state or local government, or a private citizen, who has made an outstanding commitment to integrating cultural and ethnic diversity into coastal or marine resource management programs.
  • Excellence in Business Leadership – Recognizes a business organization that has made significant contributions above and beyond the call of duty to improve or protect the coastal or ocean environment and that demonstrates the ability to balance business interests with environmental needs, as articulated in the CZMA.
  • Excellence in Ocean and Coastal Resource Management – Given to an individual who has initiated innovative practices and brought positive change to the management of ocean or coastal resources at the state or national level.

The program is open to individuals, organizations, state and local government agencies and their employees. Entries must adhere to the strict submission and judging criteria and must be received no later than January 3, 2003. Winners will be notified in February 2003 and honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. in March 2003.

Nomination forms, details on judging criteria and entry preparation can be found at:

NOAA is dedicated to enhancing economic security and national safety through the prediction and research of weather and climate related events and providing environmental stewardship of our nation’s coastal and marine resources.

To learn more about NOAA, please visit: