NOAA 2000-524
Contact: Jana Goldman


NOAA's research office – the Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research – has named seven individuals as the 1999 Employees of the Year.

"We are fortunate to have such talented and dedicated individuals working throughout NOAA Research," said David L. Evans, assistant administrator of NOAA. "It is through their efforts that we have a better understanding our climate, our weather and our oceans."

NOAA Research will honor those named at an awards ceremony at 2 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 17, in the fourth floor conference room at NOAA Research headquarters, 1315 East West Highway, Silver Spring, Md. A reception will follow.

Chosen from 15 nominations to the OAR Personnel Management Advisory Committee were: Mr. Joseph Brown, an administrative support assistant with the National Sea Grant College Program; Ms. Jenny Martinez, a secretary with the Forecast Systems Laboratory in Boulder, Colo.; Dr. James Hendee, a research oceanographer with the Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory in Miami; Ms. Lisa Darby, a meteorologist with the Environmental Technology Laboratory in Boulder, Colo.; Mr. Daniel C. Law, an electronic engineer with the Environmental Technology Laboratory in Boulder, Colo.; Dr. Stephen Montzka, a research chemist with the Climate Modeling and Diagnostics Laboratory in Boulder, Colo.; and Ms. Mary Anne Whitcomb, division chief of the Budget and External Affairs Division in Silver Spring, Md.