NOAA 00-R504
Contact: Jana Goldman


Commerce Secretary William M. Daley has appointed Nathaniel Robinson, a senior executive in Wisconsin's state government, to a three-year term on the National Sea Grant Review Panel, the Commerce Department's National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration announced today.

Robinson, the administrator of the Division of Energy and Intergovernmental Relations in Madison, is one of three new members appointed to the panel. Composed of individuals with diverse backgrounds in marine affairs, the panel advises the secretary, the undersecretary for oceans and atmosphere, and the director of the National Sea Grant College Program on scientific and administrative policy.

Established by Congress in 1966, the National Sea Grant College Program is a partnership of academia, government, and the private sector dedicated to the development and wise use of the nation's coastal, ocean, and Great Lakes resources. The program sponsors marine research, education, and outreach through a nationwide network of colleges.

Other new appointees to the panel are Robin Alden, former Maine Commissioner of Marine Resources in Augusta, and Robert A. Duce, professor of oceanography and atmospheric sciences at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas.

Among his many duties Robinson represents Gov. Tommy Thompson on national boards and commissions, including the Great Lakes Commission and the Coastal States Organization. He also chairs Wisconsin's Acid Deposition Research Council.

Other panel members are (alphabetically): James Arrington, associate vice president for research and graduate studies, South Carolina State University, Orangeburg; Peter Bell, adjunct professor with the Carnegie Institute and retired vice president and chief scientist of the Norton Company in Worcester, Mass.; and Michael Fischer, director of the environmental program for the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation in Menlo Park, Calif.

Also, Carlos Fetterolf, Jr., retired executive secretary, Great Lakes Fishery Commission, Ann Arbor, Mich.; and Roger Hanson, professor emeritus, University of Alabama, Birmingham; Frederick Hutchinson, professor emeritus of the University of Maine in Orono; Geraldine Knatz, (chair elect), director of planning for the Port of Long Beach in California; Elaine Knight, co-owner and manager of Knight's Seafood, Brunswick, Ga.; Frank Kudrna (chair), president of Kudrna & Associates Ltd.,Chicago, Ill.; Jeffrey Stephan, manager of the United Fishermen's Marketing Association, Kodiak, Alaska; John Toll, chancellor emeritus, University of Maryland, College Park; and Judith Weis, professor in the department of biological sciences at Rutgers University in Newark, N.J.